League News


Sharks feed on competition to win 25th Bobby Joe Ryan Tournament

The NW U13B Sharks went undefeated in winning the 25thEdition of the Bobby Joe Ryan Memorial Tournament held in North Sydney. The Sharks went 2-0-1 in the Round Robin portion of the tournament.

In their first game The Sharks took care of business, by defeating Glace Bay 6-3. Hunter Jackson led the way for New Waterford by netting a Hattrick. Matthew MacKinnon led the Miners by grabbing a goal and an assist.

Game 2 proved a little more difficult as the County Islanders fought back from an early 2 goal defecit to force a 2 all draw. Dylan Gillis and Aiden Leblanc opened the scoring in the first but the Sharks couldn't hold the 2 goal lead as Brian Jessome and Brandon Dollimount got the Islanders back to even in the 3rd to secure a draw.

In the final round robin game the Sharks overpowered the host Northside by a score of 10-1. Hunter Jackson was the star of the game for New Waterford by scoring 6 goals, while Jasper Gaudet tallied 4 points of his own. Noah Carey had lone tally for the Vikings.

In the crossover the Sharks faced a very game GlaceBay team  who were seeking revenge for their earlier defeat, but they game up just short by losing in a shootout 2-1. Matteo Aljadaani opened the scoring in the second period for the Miners but they could not hold on as the Sharks soon evened the score with a goal from Jasper Gaudet shortly after. The score at the end of regulation was tied at 1. Brendan Gillis became the hero in the shootout by clinching the win for New Waterford.

This led to a finals matchup with the host Vikings. But The Sharks were too hungry and could taste victory, and taste it they did by defeating the Northside by a score of 8-4. Drake Bradbury, Jake Cassidy, Logan Herridge and Noah Carey all tallied a goal for the Vikings. While the trio of Daniel Rizzo, Hunter Jackson, and Dylan Gillis each had a pair of goals while Xander Cormier and Benjamin Peterson rounded out the attack for the Sharks.

Congratulations to the NW U13B Sharks, your 2023 Bobby Joe Ryan Memorial tournament Winners


Nov 15, 2023